The Hammer and Chisel

Oneness-with-the-Universe

I feel my heart beating

as a hammer does to a chisel,

carving out wild waves

of thought, converging

onto a water pump,

beating itself open,

turn by turn, yet soft,

and smooth as lavender silk

unveiling a mystery, I keep

deep in murky depths.

And when I offer myself up

to the creator within my heart,

the raging waterfall subsides.

And I start to feel each wave,

drop by drop. I feel each beat,

from heart to distant heart;

I feel my hands, tiny as a baby’s,

pressed against the chest

of one united people.

Hand over heart I find the pulse

of peace growing, from the stillness

of a living, breathing valley of water

merging into an ocean of One.

 

~ jeffrey Vionito

Picture by: http://www.togetherarts.in/home/gallery-machu-picchu-antra-shruti-srivastava-from-secunderabad-india/

 

Leave a Reply

