Rising Above

image

I asked for my own place to stand
So you gave me a strong pair of feet.
I begged for a chance at discovery
So a path of unknown became my street.

I said to you, “i want to be loved!”
So you gave me this beating heart.
I exclaimed of my need for salvation
So a life of suffering i had from the start.

I cried out to you for infinite guidance
So you left me in the desert of my mind.
I prayed for discernment from mirages;
they disappeared, one by one, left behind.

Then I looked to my own heart for answers
But all that poured was pulsing with love.
In This desert now grows a fruitful oasis,
From these wanting thoughts, i am rising above.

– jeffrey vionito

2 thoughts on “Rising Above

  1. Winding road says:

    Wow, goosebumps. Each line is awakening but I really love “I begged for a chance at discovery, so a path of unknown became my street”

Leave a Reply

