Monday Night Poetry

image

Small room of hot eclectic joy
Gathers the warmth
Of slow moving, elephant ear fans
And mystical violins,
Or maybe its an esraj of sullen
Etheral Ectsacy radiating elusively
From the unassuming decor
Of this cosmic And timeless place.

On monday nights, beads
Of sweat dissolve erotically
As hunger, thirst and desire
For all the heart dripping nectar
That Brings forth the  Beloved;
And As we Mingle, the sinewy sweat
Converts to the sweetest wine
Of laughter and romancing
All The many Ways of falling deeply
Into the purpose of this night,
And tonights subject, Is Love!

– jeffrey vionito

Monday night sufi poetry,  i wrote this while waiting for everyone to arrive at Cosmic Cafe in Dallas! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Monday Night Poetry

  1. Morgan says:

    Gorgeous Jeffrey πŸ™‚ Just gorgeous!

    • Thanks Morgan! I just know you would love the energy of that weekly gathering! Its a beautiful experience πŸ™‚

      • Morgan says:

        I do find myself curious, though I am most decidedly a Christian. Is Sufi a religious denomination or a philosophical approach to religion?

      • Sufism is a more universal consciousness approach found in the islamic culture. It practices a philosophy similiar to buddhism in the sense that they seek a higher consciousness or connection with Gid through meditation. In Sufism, the sufi dance is a way to achieve this. Im sure there are many practices related to it but i am only aware of this one for sure. Oh, and some of the best poetry is derived from this culture. Rumi and Hafiz particularly. To me, its just another beautiful way of building a closer relationship with the One. Whatever the ‘One’ may mean to you πŸ™‚

      • Morgan says:

        I find that entirely fascinating. I am Christian, but I also admire many other world religions, including Buddhism, as I feel they revere All Life the way we are meant to. I Think the American Indians had a very Harmonious Philosophy of Life and Connection with the Great Spirit. And I often wonder if these other religions aren’t just other expressions of God’s Great Love. Who am I to ever know for sure. All I do know is that my Spirit Calls me to Love, to Hope, to Trust, and to Let this Light within Shine out to Touch others as only It may be Guided to do.

        πŸ™‚ See, I could talk about this all day πŸ™‚

      • Haha i love it Morgan. God is Love. Seek out Love and you will experience God. Residing in the heart, always. Always. πŸ™‚

      • Morgan says:

        πŸ™‚ As we often say at church. God is Good All the Time and All the Time God is Good πŸ™‚

      • Very true to my heart! πŸ™‚

      • Morgan says:

        Post worthy all on its own πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

