The Only Dance There Is

2012_56017_125541

I see a Sufi dancer,

swirling in the shadows

of my busy mind.

 

I feel a Sufi dancer,

flowing and flooding my senses,

turning each one blind;

 

to all the seeds

of separation, that I create

in search of the divine.

 

I turn around three times–

Backing away, to embrace another;

distance grows in thought.

 

I turn around six times–

and see the cosmic flurry of vision

a panic of blurry separation

 

bleeding into one.

I turn around nine times–

I forget myself, I say,

 

“is it my legs

or the flight of my robe

that raises me

 

like the full moon

eclipsed by the solar stillness

of my heart.

 

I turn around 12 times

and the world becomes my cradle.

I fall dizzy from seeking,

 

my desire is shrinking.

I lay on your ground in surrender,

never a moment so tender

 

As this one.

I am now calm and floored

with a mind

 

still spinning open

like a child’s spiraling top, twisted

against the smooth grains

 

of this wooden plane,

shining in an oaken reflection

of the one I found.

 

Is it you, is it me?

Spinning, in this divine resolve–

I begin to dissolve.

 

~ jeffrey vionito

picture by:  http://www.celesteprize.com/artwork/ido:125541/

 

Leave a Reply

