A Succulent

amazing-flowers-of-the-world

I should have picked a ripe succulent,

to adorn my desk as a companion.

Its leaves are thick and of hearty heart,

a desert drizzle could tend to its roots.

 

I should have planned for my neglect.

Absent minded, a soft colorful visage

sullenly droops, as I think less of caring

and often too consumed for kindness.

 

With not enough time to sit in a window,

life’s unvented pain collects real slow,

from what can’t be reached up above,

and a water vase that is half a world away.

 

On the brink of lonely death, a friend

helped to mend my wound. Reminding

me to take the time, helping others grow,

so radiant color can collect on their leaves.

 

My choice, although seemingly careless,

made a far better person out of me.

To awareness’s end and loves expand,

a more daring to be caring, man I am.

 

Maybe I should have picked a succulent,

instead of taking a kinder stance of faith.

But a delicate beauty, bold with frailty,

grew a vibrant heart, deep inside of me.

 

~ jeffrey vionito

picture by:  boutiqueinn.wordpress.com

 

5 thoughts on “A Succulent

  1. Ascension Angels says:

    I wish I had your talent! 😉 Thank you for sharing your soul-stirring ponderings and inspirations 🙂

  2. click here says:

    It’s awesome to go to see this site and reading
    the views of all friends concerning this
    post, while I am also zealous of getting experience.

Leave a Reply

