Wave as a Fish

image

I am just a rolling wave
dreaming myself into a fish,
rising to light, diving to dark,
in this ocean I do as I wish.

My scales a brighter sheen
as I rise up into this flight,
even in my darkest journey
a shadow dance of sun’s light.

Playing against the depths
of the one I see myself to be,
living in this brief experience
mind melding its own destiny.

And when the rise has fallen
from this fish awoken as a wave
I will see life’s beauty immortal
for the ocean to a wave is no grave.

– jeffrey vionito

Leave a Reply

