The Way of Grace

6723-willow-on-lakeside-1920x1080-nature-wallpaper

As a child I used to struggle

to stay above the water.

Paddling and kicking,

moving my arms,

a playful warrior at battle

was created by my fear

of being swallowed up

in the murky gloom

of the manmade lake.

With great force

Learned to glide swiftly

through the aquatic terrain.

Sometimes,

growing too tired

to swim back

to the shore and rest,

I found comforting shade

in the half rooted willows

lining the bank on the far side.

I would lay back in the water,

limbs in outstretched surrender

falling into a floating slumber,

Drifting motionless

yet rising up,

the more I relaxed

into the very thing

I struggled so much against.

~ jeffrey vionito

4 thoughts on “The Way of Grace

  1. Morgan says:

    Beautiful Sal 🙂

  2. Winding road says:

    This is so beautiful, encouraging and inspiring. “Drifting motionless yet rising up,the more I relaxed into the very thing I struggled so much against”…such a perfect combination of words.

Leave a Reply

